# EDITORIAL WILEY

## **Editorial issue 32.3**

This special issue contains 24 full papers selected from the Computer Animation and Social Agents 2021 Conference (CASA2021). This conference was founded by the Computer Graphics Society (CGS) in 1988 in Geneva and is the oldest conference on Computer Animation in the world. It has been held in many countries around the world and in recent years in Beijing, China (2018), Paris, France (2019), Bournemouth, UK (2020), and this year in Ottawa, Canada. The two last conferences have been organized virtually due to the Covid-19 pandemy.

We have altogether received 60 submissions, out of which 24 papers have been accepted in this issue and will be presented in six sessions with the order:

- · Avatars and Agents
- · Recognition and Modeling
- · Character Motion
- · Rendering and Simulation
- · Semantics and Image Processing
- · VR/AR System

We would like to thank the authors for sharing their research findings by submitting papers to CASA2021. We are very grateful to the Program Committee members for reviewing the papers and to all the people who have contributed to the success of CASA2021.

The conference is organized by the University of Ottawa under the guidance of the CGS.

### **Conference Co-Chairs**

WonSook Lee (University of Ottawa, Canada). Chris Joslin (Carleton University, Canada).

### **Program Co-Chairs**

Daniel Thalmann (EPFL, Switzerland). Eric Paquette (École de Technologie Supérieure, Canada). Sung-Hee Lee (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Korea).

### **Publicity Co-Chairs**

Jian Chang (Bournemouth University, UK). Shihui Guo (Xiamen University, China).

#### **Awards Chair**

Nadia Magnenat Thalmann (University of Geneva, Switzerland and Nanyang Technological University, Singapore).

### **Publications Chair**

Feng Tian (Bournemouth University, UK).

### **International Program Committee**

Nadine Aburumman (Brunel University). Selim Balcisoy (Sabanci University). Seungbae Bang (University of Toronto).

Loic Barthe (IRIT - Université de Toulouse).

Anup Basu (University of Alberta).

Anil Ufuk Batmaz (Simon Fraser University).

Jan Bender (RWTH Aachen University).

Sebastian Bosse (Fraunhofer).

Dan Casas (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos).

Susana Castillo (TU Braunschweig).

Raphaëlle Chaine (LIRIS Université Lyon 1).

Jian Chang (Bournemouth University).

Parag Chaudhuri (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay).

Justin Dauwels (TU Delft).

Etienne de Sevin (SANPSY University of Bordeaux).

Zhigang Deng (University of Houston).

Shujie Deng (King's College London).

Abdennour El Rhalibi (Liverpool John Moores University).

Petros Faloutsos (York University, EECS).

Christos Gatzidis (Bournemouth University).

Ugur Gudukbay (Bilkent University).

Xiaohu Guo (The University of Texas at Dallas).

Shihui Guo (Bournemouth University).

Sehoon Ha (Georgia Institute of Technology).

James Hahn (George Washington University).

Daseong Han (Handong Global University).

Carlo Harvey (Birmingham City University).

Gaoqi He (East China Normal University).

Ying He (Nanyang Technological University).

Zhiyong Huang (NUS School of Computing).

Jinyuan Jia (Tongji University).

Xiaogang Jin (State Key Lab of CAD\&CG, Zhejiang University).

Prem Kalra (IIT Delhi).

Dongwann Kang (Seoul National University of Science and Technology).

Mubbasir Kapadia (Rutgers University).

Jinmo Kim (Hansung University).

Meekyoung Kim (Daegu University).

Min H. Kim (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology).

Scott King (Texas A&M University - Corpus Christi).

Andreas Kolb (University of Siegen).

Taku Komura (The University of Edinburgh).

Taesoo Kwon (Hanyang University).

David Labbe (Ecole de technologie superieure).

Fabrizio Lamberti (Politecnico di Torino).

Myungho Lee (Pusan National University).

Yoonsang Lee (Hanyang University).

Ping Li (The Hong Kong Polytechnic University).

Tsai-Yen Li (National Chengchi University).

Xiaohui Liang (Beihang University).

Shiguang Liu (Tianjin University).

Xuequan Lu (Deakin University).

Guoliang Luo (East China Jiaotong University).

Chongyang Ma (Snap Inc.)

Anderson Maciel (Universidade Federal do Rio Grande do Sul).

Bob-Antoine Jerry Menelas (University of Quebec at Chicoutimi).

Shigeo Morishima (Waseda University).

Sudhir Mudur (Concordia University).

Soraia Musse (Pontificia Universidade Catolica do Roi Grande do Sul, PUCRS, Brazil).

Junjun Pan (Beihang University).

Yuru Pei (Peking University).

Julien Pettre (INRIA).

Tiberiu Popa (Concordia University).

Nicolas Pronost (Université Claude Bernard Lyon 1).

Kun Qian (King's College London).

Hong Qin (Stony Brook University).

Taehyun Rhee (Computational Media Innovation Centre, Victoria University of Wellington).

Craig Schroeder (UCR).

Ari Shapiro (ByteDance).

Shinjiro Sueda (Texas A&M University).

Yiying Tong (Michigan State University).

Michiel van de Panne (The University of British Columbia).

Meili Wang (Northwest A&F University).

He Wang (University of Leeds).

Jungdam Won (Facebook AI Research).

Sai-Keung Wong (National Chiao Tung University).

Zhongke Wu (BNU).

Pengcheng Xi (National Research Council Canada).

Tianchen Xu (Advanced Micro Devices).

Weiwei Xu (Zhejiang University).

Fan Yachun (Beijing Normal University).

Qingan Yan (JD.com).

Bailin Yang (College of Computer and Information Engineering, Zhejiang Gongshang University).

Xiaosong Yang (Bournemouth University).

Yin Yang (Clemson University).

Yuting Ye (Oculus Research).

Lihua You (Bournemouth University).

Hongchuan Yu (NCCA, Bournemouth University).

Zerrin Yumak (Utrecht University).

Jian Zhang (Bournemouth University).

Wenshu Zhang (Cardiff Metropolitan University).

Jianmin Zheng (Nanyang Technological University).

Won Sook Lee<sup>1</sup> Chris Joslin<sup>2</sup> Daniel Thalmann<sup>3</sup> Eric Paquette<sup>4</sup> Sung-Hee Lee<sup>5</sup>

<sup>1</sup>School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science (EECS), University of Ottawa, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

<sup>2</sup>School of Information Technology, Carleton University, Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

<sup>3</sup>School of Computer and Communication Sciences, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland

<sup>4</sup>Département de génie logiciel et des TI, École de Technologie Supérieure, Montreal, Quebec, Canada

<sup>5</sup>Graduate School of Culture Technology, Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Daejeon, South Korea

### Correspondence

Daniel Thalmann, School of Computer and Communication Sciences, EPFL, Lausanne, Switzerland. Email: daniel.thalmann@epfl.ch